Election 2016

We are pleased to announce that we have 5 candidates running for the opportunity to fill the five positions on the Eagle View Group Executive Committee. Incumbents Kathryn Allen, Frank Holst, Jerry Neff, and Mike Wilcox as well as member Jon Duyvejonck have volunteered to give of their time to serve on our board.  By participating in the Eagle View Group ExCom election you can show your support for our group leaders!

Ballots will be sent the week of January 11, 2016 or you can vote online at http://goo.gl/forms/tKXWfHi11A. Returned ballots need to be postmarked by January 30, 2016.  Read statement from the candidates below.

Results will be announced on our blog by February 5, 2016. Your participation is appreciated!


Kathryn Allen

I’ve had the opportunity to serve four terms on the ExCom of the Eagle View Group.  During those years, I have been one of the organizers of our Environmental Film Fest, now in its 11th year.  My responsibilities also include working on political and legislative issues.  As a sampler of water from a local stream since the inception of the Water Sentinels program, I’ve been on an ongoing learning curve about our waterways.    I would appreciate the opportunity to serve another term.

Michael Wilcox

I am lifetime member of the Sierra Club and have served on the Eagle View Group ExCom for 3 years. Last year, I trained at the Climate Reality Leadership Corp presented by the Climate Reality Project chaired by former Vice President Al Gore. As a result of this training, I now give presentations to educate audiences on the realities of climate change. I believe climate change is the salient issue of our time. I also believe that education of the public on environmental issues should be the main priority of Eagle View Group. I want to work to get more of our members involved so we can increase our focus on local environmental issues as well as the climate change crisis. Thanks for voting in this election. Come join us so that we can keep our planetary home, Earth, a habitable place for future generations of all life.

Frank Holst

I was a boy scout. I have been a member of Eagle View over 15 years. I have been treasurer for most of that time and have a college degree-which means I can hopefully preform 3rd grade math. Have been known to occasionally be sarcastic and make feeble attempts at humor, mostly to counter balance nerd/accountant profiling.

Jerry Neff

I am asking for another term on Sierra Club’s Eagle View Group Executive Committee and here is why. All my life I’ve enjoyed outdoor activities such as hiking, canoeing, sailing, bicycling, backpacking, camping, cross-country skiing, and mountain climbing.  So it is only natural that I’m interested in protecting our environment.  Whether it’s wild lands, clean air and water, and of course dealing with climate change, I want to do my part.  Also, I want to share my experiences, fun and wisdom with others in the hope that they too will want to enjoy, explore and protect our world for future generations.

Jon Duyvejonck

I am a recently retired biologist with the US Fish and Wildlife Service where I planned and designed habitat restoration projects, conducted field surveys for endangered species, coordinated projects with agencies and the public, reviewed Federal environmental permits, served on the Upper Mississippi River Conservation Committee, and gave presentations on Mississippi River natural resources to schools and organizations. I have a passion for protecting and conserving natural resources; particularly those related to the Mississippi River. I am currently on the Board of Directors for the Riverbend Wildland Trust, am a member of the National Audubon Society, Ducks Unlimited, The Freshwater Mollusk Conservation Society, and an active volunteer with River Action. I will continue to participate in all conservation activities that improve our fish and wildlife resources; in particular, those that target local youth. Working with the Sierra Club Eagle View Chapter would be a great opportunity to continue this work.

One thought on “Election 2016

Leave a Reply

