2017 EVG Executive Committee Election – Please Vote!

We are pleased to announce that we have four candidates to fill the four positions on the Eagle View Group Executive Committee. Incumbents Kristen Bergren, Bill Davies, Emily Clever, and Olivia Dorothy have volunteered their time to serve on our board. By participating in the Eagle View Group Executive Committee election you can show your support for our group leaders! Each Sierra Club member in the household votes for four candidates.

Ballots will be mailed out the week of January 9, 2017. Returned ballots need to be postmarked by Friday, February 3, 2017. All ballots must have your mailing address included so please leave the address label on the ballot. Online voting will be available until February 3, 2017 at https://goo.gl/forms/ZZPJ3yceCsI0oms13 . Your participation is appreciated.

Candidate Statements:

Kristen Bergren: Eagle View Group’s great programs, outings and EVG leaders motivated me to become a more active member. For many years, I have been on the Executive Committee and for the past seven years have been honored to serve as chair. During my tenure on the board, I have had the opportunity to volunteer and support our Water Sentinels and have been on the Environmental Film Fest committee since it began twelve years ago.  Sierra Club continues to be the organization to take the lead in action against climate change through political and grassroots efforts. I would appreciate being able to serve another term on the Executive Committee helping members support these critical efforts to protect our environment.

Bill Davies:  I joined the Sierra Club after I discovered it is a grassroots organization with an active local group working to protect our environment.  I became an elected member of the Eagle View Group Executive Committee (ExCom) and have continued to serve on the ExCom in various capacities.  I have also been the Illinois Sierra Club Chapter chair for 13 years, where I have the opportunity to work with members from around the state.  The weather extremes of the growing climate crisis are occurring more frequently. We can not stop our efforts to educate the public and encourage our legislators to make the tough decisions and take the actions necessary to deal with this crisis.  We all need to unite in these actions, particularly after this last election.   I will appreciate your vote for me to continue as a member of the Eagle View Group leadership.

Emily Clever:  During the six years I have been on the Eagle View Executive Committee, I have helped support EVG’s social media platforms and fundraising events such as Tree Hugger Trivia and the Annual Dinner. One of my goals for EVG in 2017 is to increase member involvement. I am seeking out members to attend monthly meetings focused on activism opportunities and events. I have a bachelor’s degree in Political Science and in Environmental Science.  Currently, I am a stay at home mom to my adorable active young toddler. I would appreciate your vote to serve another term.

Olivia Dorothy: I have served on the Sierra Club Eagle View Group Executive Committee for two years. I am a new mom and work as an environmentalist for American Rivers to protect and restore the Upper Mississippi River. On the EVG Executive Committee, I serve as the secretary and fundraising chair, help maintain the website and social media accounts and lead on the organizing committees for the Tree Hugger Trivia and Annual Dinner fundraisers.  I love the outdoors, reading about environmental topics and hope to serve another term.

Don’t forget to check our calendar for upcoming events!  http://www.sierraclub.org/illinois/eagle-view

Leave a Reply

