Category Archives: Illinois

Environmental Film Fest 2018

By Kathryn Allen

2018 marks the 13th year of the Environmental Film Fest.  This year the first movie in our line up,  revisits Al Gore with his second movie on Climate Change – Truth to Power: An Inconvenient Sequel – which was released in 2017, eleven years after his first movie An Inconvenient Truth.  

Eagle View Group began the Environmental Film fest that same year, and Gores movie was in one of our first film fests.  In over the decade since then, Gore has championed the understanding of climate change and its impact on the Earth: and with his Climate Project training sessions held numerous times each year around the world, he has prepared hundreds of leaders for outreach to thousands of people.

An Inconvenient Sequel brings us updated information on climate change and also tells the story of this remarkable man who has faithfully championed this planetary message.

This past summer, I had the opportunity to meet a National Geographic underwater photographer, Brian Skerry, who filmed our next movie, one we Hope you will Sea!  (Due to the Terms and Conditions of the distributor, I must refer you to the EFF website at this point for specific information.

This movie captures the profound beauty of Earths oceans, and inspires us with the words and work of Sylvia Earle (aka Her Deepnessand a founding member of OceanElders), and a group of young underwater explorers who come from inner city neighborhoods. We are drawn into the wonders of Earths watery world, the perils caused by human behaviors, and the hope that  if we act in time, there is much we can do to care for the vast marine part of our planet.

Next comes a video montage of the best, most moving, and funniest short films on the environment that the EFF planning committee found after hours of searching the web. We have put them all together for you, and trust that you will thoroughly enjoy them!

Rounding out EFF 2018 is Before the Flood from actor, environmental activist, and UN messenger of peace, Leonardo DiCaprio, and filmmaker Fisher Stevens. DiCaprio opens the movie with a work of 16th Century art he saw as a child – The Garden of Earthly Delights by Hieronymous Bosch.  This ancient piece was one of the first works of art to see Earth as a sphere, and both the beauty and destruction that could define it.  DiCaprio launches his narrative with this to explore the dramatic planetary alterations occurring due to a changing climate.  He uses many of his own personal experiences to illustrate the story and promotes actions we as individuals and a society can take to prevent further disruption to life on earth.  He urges viewers to push elected representatives of the people to hold the interests of the planet and its inhabitants ahead of the interests of corporate greed and destruction.  

Environmental Film Fest 2018 will be held in the Olin Center at Augustana College, 733 35th St., Rock Island.  Doors open at 10:30, the movies will run from 11 am – 5 pm.   The Fest is open to the public and admission is free.  Snacks, coffee and tea will be available throughout the day. Details are available at:

Please join us!



Bridges to Conservation: Building a brighter future for Mississippi Mussels

Please join us Monday, January 15 at 6:30PM at the Moline Public Library to hear a presentation from Elizabeth Bainbridge, Fish and Wildlife Biologist at the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, on mussel conservation in the Midwest.

River mussels exist out of sight and out of mind.  Because of this, these small, slow moving animals are often underestimated.  Mussels play an important role in aquatic ecosystems.  They are also one of the most endangered groups of animals in North America.  Between Illinois and Iowa at the Quad Cities exists one of the most diverse mussel beds on the Mississippi River.  Until recently, this bed was unknown to researchers.  When surveys for the new Interstate-74 Bridge began, these creatures were brought to light.  The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service are working within the community to preserve this natural resource.  Please come and learn how this process is taking place and why mussels deserve to exists in the spotlight.

Elizabeth moved to the Quad Cities in 2016 to spread the word of freshwater mussels for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.  Her position is funded by a unique partnership with the Iowa Department of Transportation, as a result of the I-74 mussel relocation.  Prior to working for USFWS, Elizabeth was stationed with the Park Service at Rocky Mountain National Park in Colorado.  There, she worked to improving the health of rivers and streams within the park.  She received her Master’s degree in Wildlife at Fort Hays State University in western Kansas, where she studied the behavior and ecology of southern flying squirrels.  She started her academic career at the University of Dubuque in eastern Iowa.  Elizabeth was born and raised in Clinton County Iowa, near the Mississippi River, where her love of nature was born.  To date, she has worked with thousands of people of all ages, and many different partners, to foster an appreciation for conservation along the Mississippi.

We hope you can join us on Monday!